11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2011 12:16 AM by VDOSurfer

File size extremely high for .avi after render PE 9

Mid Century Modern

I'm very new to PE and have tried to learn quick to redact info (faces etc) in .avi files for a government agency. I was able to open the file (in the trial version) and make the track matte by dragging the original file to the timeline then dragging it again to the video 2 timeline for the top layer, Question 1) is this the same as copy and paste or am I doubling the size already? Anyway, I was able to get the matte and everything done. Now, to Render and save... I choose computer/avi again (I need to keep it the same) and it took 1 hr 45 min to render it, that seemed long to me but maybe not... but mainly the file size was then 100,883 kb! Starting with a 29.7 kb file. This is what my question is about....could this be right? I can't use it if this is what I get. So, here are the particulars as I got G-spot and looked it up, as per serveral suggestions I saw here. I'm trying to understand the CODEC info but I fear I have a ways to go before I can figure out what I did wrong. (This is my test computer, the future work would be done on a newer, better computer).  The videos I would be working with come from various sources and will vary in length but will probably all be a kind of avi.

Intel Pentium processor 1600 mhz

221 mhz, 2.00 gb ram

Microsoft windows xp sp3

video:

length: 0:27.261

frms:  817

Kbps: 28770

pic:  720x480

codec: dvsd dvc/dy

I appreciate any help you can give

• 1. Re: File size extremely high for .avi after render PE 9
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Without knowing the codecs of the AVIs you're using, it's hard to give you specifics, Mid.

But if the AVIs you're outputting from Premiere Elements are DV-AVIs, they should run about 500 megs per minute of running time -- about 13 gigs per hour. That's the codec you WANT to use, by the way, as part of a video editing workflow.