5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2011 5:44 AM by BobLevine

Newbie here... Where do I begin???

AKMusicProductions

Hi...

What would be the easiest way to start and learn how to design a CD cover? Can someone refer me to a tutorial (I couldn't find one by typing in "cd design") or is there a built in template in InDesign?

• 1. Re: Newbie here... Where do I begin???
          Daniel Flavin Level 4

A CD Cover is typically, 4.75 in x 4.75 in.

If you are thinking two sided, set it up as a 2 page document, if it is going to be a folded piece, set up a 4 page facing pages document.

The jewel case insert looks to be 4.625 x 5.4375 + .25 + .25, 5.9375.

If you are thinking of having them produced by one of the many whosalers of these, their webpage would typically have a template which should be used. If they are being produced locally, confirm these dimensions with the facility.

Create a new document with the listed page size; you probably want to include .125 in bleed.

You're almost in over your head, you will be advised to purchase a copy of Sandee Cohen's book "A Visual QuickStart Guide to InDesign".

Message was edited by: Daniel Flavin - jewel card /tray card insert height corrected

• 2. Re: Newbie here... Where do I begin???
            markerline Level 4

Since CD and DVD cover graphics are usually very creative in nature and require more creative tools than InDesign provides, I would also suggest learning Illustrator and Photoshop to jazz up your imagery and text.

• 3. Re: Newbie here... Where do I begin???
              AKMusicProductions Level 1