6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2011 6:33 AM by Colin Brougham

Dynamic link and warp stabilizer

jdmack01 Level 1

I have been using Premiere for some time, but I am new to After Effects.  I have a question about dynamic link and After Effect's warp stabilizer.

First, here are the steps I am following:

1. Right-click on a clip in the timeline

2. Select "replace with After Effects compostion"

3. Once After Effects opens and the new composition is created, I drag the warp stabilizer effect onto the clip.

4. The clip goes through the "analyze" and "stabilize" processes.

5. When completed, I save the composition and return to Premiere CS5.5

Here is where I have the problem.  When I play my timeline, the stabilized clip plays with much jerking.  The bar above the timeline is yellow, so there is nothing to render.  How can I get my composition to play smoothly in Premiere?  So far, the best I can figure is to render an .avi file from the composition, and then import that into Premiere and replace the composition on the timeline.  But I suspect it's not supposed to be that involved.  Can anyone help me?

On the same subject, if I have a clip on my Premiere timeline with transitions on either ends, and I replace the clip with an After Effects composition, the composition does not account for the extra frames needed for the transition.  Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?

J. D.

• 1. Re: Dynamic link and warp stabilizer
          lasvideo Level 4

Actually it DOES need rendering    Try the Render All Work Area option.  Even the most powerful computer will need to render an AE dynamically linked clip. Dont pay to much attention to the color of the render bars when using Premiere. If it doesnt play back correctly...render it.     You of course can always render in AE and export a movie for use in PrP if you choose.

Neither PrP or AE account for transitions when using dynamic link.

1 person found this helpful