8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2010 10:34 AM by CrazyMerlin

Datagrid and loose coupling of selectedItem

ElsaB
      I'm pretty new to Flex, but I know this must be possible, however search as I might I can't find any examples of what I need online, so I'm hoping someone here can help me out, or point me in the right direction.

I've got two custom components, one with a DataGrid that has an ArrayCollection as it's dataprovider, and the other is a simple panel - just meant for displaying further details of whatever item is selected in the datagrid.

How can I pass the selectedItem from the DataGrid across to the panel component? At the moment I can't seem to pass it outside of the datagrid component, perhaps because I'm not using the right Event or because I'm not binding it properly.

Thanks,
      Elsa
        • 1. Re: Datagrid and loose coupling of selectedItem
          peterent Level 2
          Let's assume the DataGrid and the Panel are in the same MXML file, like this:

<mx:DataGrid id="mygrid" ...>
          </mx:DataGrid>

<mx:Panel id="mypanel" ...>
          <mx:Label id="empName" text="Display data here" />
          </mx:Panel>

Let's say you want the employeeName field of the DataGrid's selectedItem to appear in the Label within the Panel:

<mx:Label id="empName" text="{mygrid.selectedItem.employeeName}" />

Now the employeeName field of the DataGrid's selectedItem is data-bound to the text field of the Label. This works because both the DataGrid and that Panel.Label is in the same file.

Let's go further. Suppose the Panel (with that Label) is actually another MXML file (called MyPanel.mxml) so it appears in the file with the DataGrid as:

<MyPanel id="mypanel" ... />

to pass in the selectedItem from the DataGrid you need to do 3 things:

1. Create a public variable within MyPanel in a <mx:Script> block which will be bound to the selectedItem:
          <mx:Script>
          [Bindable] public var employeeData:Object;
          </mx:Script>