8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2011 2:45 PM by Troy Vaupel

Safe Margins Premiere Pro CS5

Troy Vaupel

My sequence is set up at 1280x720. In my market, only 2 stations broadcast in HD, so I will need to down-convert the commercial to SD. Is there a way to show safe title margins for 4x3 as well as 16x9 in my sequence? I want to make sure I don't cut off my footage or graphics when I end up outputting in SD.

I'm sure there is a way, but I cannot seem to find it. This is my first attempt at editing in HD, simply because my small market doesn't accept local commercials in HD. Even though they all broadcast in HD. Currently, they up-convert all SD spots.

Thanks for your feedback.

Troy Vaupel

Creative Director

Expressway Dodge

• 1. Re: Safe Margins Premiere Pro CS5
          Jim_Simon Level 8

The same margins apply for both HD and SD.  So when you downconvert, you'll end up with the same framing.  If it's safe in one, it'll be safe in the other (so long as you properly convert to either a 16:9 SD or a letterboxed 4:3.)

• 2. Re: Safe Margins Premiere Pro CS5
            Colin Brougham Level 6

No, unfortunately not. Premiere Pro has been missing this, while After Effects allows for it.

Here's my workaround (I'm in a similar situation): I create a custom sequence preset that is basically a 4:3 version of 720p. That means dimensions of 960x720 with a PAR of 1.0 (square pixels). I create a sequence using that preset, and nest my original HD sequence into it; it will automatically create a center crop since the heights of sequences are the same, and then you can use the safe title overlay to view what will be safe within the 4:3 guides. This way, you can quickly toggle back and forth between the two sequences to adjust your layout.

Of course, you could also just export a letterboxed 4:3 version; if you were within title safe on the HD sequence, you'll be inside title safe on the SD export.

• 3. Re: Safe Margins Premiere Pro CS5
              Jim_Simon Level 8