2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2011 12:30 PM by IanD

Flash and Broadcast TV?

IanD

Hi folks.  I'm a pro cartoonist who has been using Flash on and off for years as a web tool so I know my way 'round most basic stuff.

The other day though, I was asked to produce a short 20 sec production for a TV commercial and I said  "Sure, why not".  But the company who hired me use an external post house who insist that Flash is not a broadcast (for TV) format.  They said:

Standard definition 16:9 is 720x 576 Anamorphic or 1280x 720 progressive would be fine as well as that is HD.

We're not sure how the guy will be able to deliver it as flash is not a broadcast format , it's a web format and depending how it's build it can be affected by the pixel shape. So hopefully

he's a broadcast guy and will know what to do.

I was able to find enough external reference to TV broadcast and Flash to know that Flash is OK for broadcast.  It's authored for wide-screen format (letterboxed for 4:3 I guess), but is there anything lurking in their reply that I should know about?  I followed their advice and set the stage to 1280x720 and did the production without a problem, then exported it as a Quicktime movie (30 seconds Flash produced a 250mb Quicktime file) using the following settings, so I know there's a lot of information in that there file (including the uncompressed voice track): 

Screen Shot 2011-10-01 at 12.48.22 PM.png

It looks beautiful on my monitor and plays at its native size.  I put it onto a DVD and it plays just fine.  What can possible go wrong?  What does pixel shape have to do with a vector content creator?  I've searched the web and the forums but can't seem to nail the issue of:

1. Flash is OK for broadcast content.  I'm sure it's OK but best to check with the best ..

2. Is pixel shape an issue.  If PNG sequence export is the delivery format, what settings do I need to take into account?