10 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2012 4:37 AM by VivD

Scrollable Image Grid on Mobile

VivD Level 1

I am new to Flex and have been going through whatever tutorials I've managed to find in the past wek or so. I was thinking of creating a mobile app as a test project to hone my skills .

I have a couple of questions:-

1. I want to create a scrollable grid of images for mobile. Maybe 1 column or multi column. The source of the images could be an API call or to keep it simple an arraycollection of objects containing the image title and image url. Can anyone please post an example.

<s:ArrayCollection id="imageList">

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 1" imageURL="resources/1.jpg"/>

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 2" imageURL="resources/2.jpg"/>

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 3" imageURL="resources/3.jpg"/>

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 4" imageURL="resources/4.jpg"/>

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 5" imageURL="resources/5.jpg"/>

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 6" imageURL="resources/6.jpg"/>

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 7" imageURL="resources/7.jpg"/>

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 8" imageURL="resources/8.jpg"/>

<fx:Object imageTitle="Test 9" imageURL="resources/9.jpg"/>

</s:ArrayCollection>

2. What resources (websites/books) would you recommend so I can seriously pursue Flex mobile programming ensuring my foundations are good.

• 2. Re: Scrollable Image Grid on Mobile
          VivD Level 1

Thanks.

I was mainly struggling with displaying multiple images in a row i.e. a grid.

I evntually did it this way

<s:List id="list" width="100%" height="100%" dataProvider="imageList">

<s:layout>

<s:TileLayout requestedColumnCount="2" />

</s:layout>

<s:itemRenderer>

<fx:Component>

<s:ItemRenderer>

<s:VGroup width="100%">

<s:BitmapImage source="imageURL"/>

</s:VGroup>

</s:ItemRenderer>

</fx:Component>

</s:itemRenderer>

</s:List>

Is this implementation ideal for mobile?

• 3. Re: Scrollable Image Grid on Mobile
            Shongrunden Adobe Employee