9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2011 3:54 PM by Todd_Kopriva

Keyframing enabled?

scott_mo Level 1

I am new to Premiere Pro but not new to editing. I find that when I keyframe it doesn't work properly. For example in the photos I have attached I set a fade to black up. The problem is the entire clip is black when the opacity reads %100. I can only fully restore the clip if I reset the keyframe. Is there an enable button somewhere? Is this a bug? This happened when earlier when I tried to animated the size, and customize fades.

It has worked in other edits though *shrug*

Picture 1.png

• 1. Re: Keyframing enabled?
          Colin Brougham Level 6

Are you changing the speed of your clip in any way? Doesn't look like you're using Time Remapping, but perhaps Speed/Duration?

• 2. Re: Keyframing enabled?
            scott_mo Level 1

I am time remapping. I actualy speed up the clip to 417%. Is that the problem? Should I exsport the clip and then bring it back in? Is there a better way? Send to After FX maybe?

• 3. Re: Keyframing enabled?
              Colin Brougham Level 6

Ah, yes. That's a function of the order in which the effects are applied. The solution is to do your time remapping, nest the clip (simply right-click it and select Nest) and then apply your opacity change to the nested clip created in your final sequence. That way, you'll have "precooked" the time remapping effect, and the opacity keyframes will operate in the manner--and at the times--that you'd expect.

• 4. Re: Keyframing enabled?
                scott_mo Level 1

Thanks for that. I'm just doing that now. So just to confirm, do I bake a clip out of the nest, import it into the original sequence, and then wok with it? Or is there a shorter way from the nest back to the original sequence?

• 5. Re: Keyframing enabled?
                  Colin Brougham Level 6