4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2011 7:33 AM by the_wine_snob

Subtitles query in Adobe Premiere Elements 3

HSKundra85

Dear all.

I am very new to Adobe Premiere Elements 3 as I have been required to understand aspects of it for my new job. One of aspects I want to look at is the option of adding in subtitles. So for example, I have a few extracts of dvds which has been clipped with no current subtitles (lasting around 2-3 minutes each) and was hoping to add in subtitles to accompany the narration for those with hearing difficulties. Is this possible through Premiere Elements 3? If so could someone be kind enough to let me know of how to achieve this?

Thank you very much and look forward to hearing back soon.

Kind regards

Harj

• 1. Re: Subtitles query in Adobe Premiere Elements 3
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Sure. Adding subtitles is no different than adding titles.

You just create title clips on video tracks over your main video.

• 2. Re: Subtitles query in Adobe Premiere Elements 3
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Harj,

As Steve points out, one can add "subtitles," by using a Title layout, commonly referred to as "Lower Thirds." While there are Templates for several artistic layouts for Lower Thirds, one can create their own, to suit. I would start with one of the Lower Thirds Templates, and adapt it to suit your needs. When you have the layout, as you want it, you can then Save that Template for future use. If only to be used within a single Project, you can Duplicate that Title (the layout that you have created), and just alter the Text. Duplicate as many times as needed, to create new Titles based on it, in your Project Panel.