1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 5, 2011 6:53 AM by RjL190365

Upgrading AMD PC for Premiere/AE CS5

GasperG

Hi!

I am new to the forum and after reading some topics here i decided to ask you for some help.

I am thinking of upgrading my AMD PC for video editing. It is a PC which was built for gaming, but lately I have decided to rather invest my free time to learning video editing in Premiere and some basic compositioning in After Effects. As my budget is not high, being a student, I'm asking you if you can share some basic tips on how to get the most out of this configuration, and some upgrades that i should consider. I am working mainly with files that are shot Panasonic TM700, so the codec that I am working with is AVCHD (i know about the stress it puts on the processor).

My curent configuration is:

CPU

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T

I know it's not the fastest of processors, but maybe I could overclock it a bit?
      GPUPowerColor ATI Radeon HD5770Not really an expert here, so maybe share your thoughts? (does hybrid crossfire have any effect on the performance?)
      MotherboardAsus M4A88T-M/USB3Nothing special, does allow me overclocking of the processor and setting up RAID for the hard disks.
      RAM8GB (4x2GB) OCZ Gold 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)I have all the slots on the mobo ful, so upgrading memory is not an option at the moment.
      Hard driveWD Caviar Green 1.0TBThis is the biggest problem. I know i have to get seperate disks for OS/Programs and maybe 2TB of disks in a RAID0 for video files. Any suggestions?
      PSULC POWER 600W LC6600Enough power for now, but what about after i put some more disks in?
      CaseAntec Two HundredThe case in good enough for an average setup, I am only thinking of putting 2 120mm fans in front of the disks.
      Optical driveSony Optiarc DVD-RW
      Monitor

Samsung SyncMaster LCD 2253BW 22"

Again, nothing special. I am only thinking of adding another one to extend workplace.