8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 7, 2011 5:26 AM by Ned Murphy

Growing Button Rollover help

andersonOllie

Hi guys,

I've searched for a similar discussion but can't find one, so the first bit of help i'd like is if anyone can point me to an already exisiting discussion...

I'm basically looking to create some buttons that once 'rollover'd' grow slightly, and shrink again once 'rollout'd', and im hoping to add a little bounce (or i believe its called elastic) once it snaps back.

I am a beginner, but have created buttons before with rollover, rollout etc but arent sure how to create the motion of it growing in the button.

(Im using Flash CS4 and was intending AS3, but happy to use whatever is recommended for this.)

All and any help very much appreciated!

Ollie

ps i did use this site tutorial (http://www.kirupa.com/developer/mx2004/button_effect.htm), but i wasnt sure which AS or CS it was using. Everything worked but the motion of the growing.

• 1. Re: Growing Button Rollover help
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

That tutorial is using AS2, so if you want it to work you probably need to switch your Publish Settings to be for AS2.  There is also some poor programming being demo-ed in that tutorial - namely an onEnterFrame that is always running unnecessarily.

If you want to use AS3, you'll need to change the code to use event listeners for the buttons (movieclips as buttons, that is).    Here the equivalent code in AS3 with the fix for the enterframe wastefulness in place... (code not tested).

var rewind = false;

function enterFrame():void{ 
             if(rewind == true && currentFrame > 1){ 
                prevFrame();
             } else {
                this.removeEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, enterFrame);
                rewind = false;
             }

this.addEventListener(MouseEvent.ROLL_OVER, thisRollOver);
          this.addEventListener(MouseEvent.ROLL_OUT, thisRollOut);