10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2011 7:50 AM by Myrnalyn

Video and Audio Out of Sync

Myrnalyn

I have an assignment to cut together various film clips to show editing techniques.

I have been importing different .mp4 files into Premiere and there are issues on each one.  For instance, on one video, the image is continuously shaking at the top while on the other, the audio is terribly out of sync.  When I play the .mp4 files in Quicktime, there is nothing wrong with any of them.  I am new to using this program, so I am not sure if there is something I can easily change in the settings or not.  I have rendered the workspace but that did nothing.

I'm using Premiere Pro CS5.5 on a Mac.

Suggestions?

• 1. Re: Video and Audio Out of Sync
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

First, be sure your sequence matches your footage

See 2nd post for picture of NEW ITEM process http://forums.adobe.com/thread/872666?tstart=0

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Video and Audio Out of Sync
            Jim_Simon Level 8

Not all .mp4's are alike.  Premiere Pro is designed to work with a specific subset of the MPEG4 standard, it may well not work with all.

You're best option is to use original media you shot yourself using a supported camera format.

• 3. Re: Video and Audio Out of Sync
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

What is the source, or sources, of the MP4 files?

What are the properties of the file(s)?

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: Video and Audio Out of Sync
                Myrnalyn Level 1

Well, I tried what John T Smith suggested and the video did help somewhat.  I created sequences based on the clips themselves; the shakiness of the video is gone and now Premiere shows that it is completely rendered and should playback in realtime.

However, the audio is still out of sync.  I tried converting the .mp4 format to other ones like .mov but I am still getting the same audio issues.