5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2011 10:37 AM by sambonebs

Monitor choice for new Premiere rig.

sambonebs

Hello!

I'm a photographer, and I'd like to get into video. This, combined with the fact that my MacBook Pro has just died, has led me to spec up a video editing PC. I've listed the system below:

Intel i7 960 3.2GHz

Asus Sabertooth X85

16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1866Mhz

Antec TruePower 750W PSU

Coolermaster Silencio 550 Case

2 x Samsung 2443 Monitors OR 2 x Samsung 2380 Monitors (See below)

Zotac GTX570

2 x WD 1TB SATA-III Caviar Black (Scratch drive: RAID0 on SATA-III ports of the Motherboard)

1 x WD 300GB SATA-II Velociraptor (System drive)

1 x Samsung DVD/RW + RAM Drive

1 x Microsof Wireless Desktop 3000

Now, I was going to go for a 120GB OCZ SSD as the system drive, but after reading a few posts on here, I thought the V'raptor would be a better option - but, do I even have to go that high? Will a basic 7200rpm drive do the job?

I'm heavily involved in the music scene in my area, so I think my primary focus will be music videos. I see myself running 3-5 streams in Premiere Pro CS5.5, and using After Effects too. I'll still be using this rig for photography so I'll be running Photoshop and Lightroom. Will that rig be powerful enough?

Now, my other question concerns monitor choice. Initially, I was sold on the 2443 as it's a decent size, and it'll run up to 1200px on the vertical (which I've been told is essential for Premiere) but, I've discovered it has a TN Panel. My other choice is the 2380 which is a little smaller, with a thicker bezel (I think the viewable area is 21.5") and will only go up to 1080 on the vertical, but it does use the better panel, the PVA I think it's called?

Whatever spec rig ever I go for, the rig is coming out around £1700 which is pretty much top of my budget.

Please gentlemen, help our a noob!

• 1. Re: Monitor choice for new Premiere rig.
          Harm Millaard Level 7