5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2011 11:04 PM by George_Johnson

How to "Ink Markup" a PDF when Security Settings won't Allow it?

Jonny_Quick

I am an onsite computer tech support person and have been asked to solve a problem that is outside my expertise, and would appreciate any help I can find here.

The Doctor's office recieves electronic faxes from pharmacies that require the doctor's signature before being electronically faxed back, approving the medication or whatever.  Sometimes the faxes come in as .jpg files, and the doctor can use Windows Paint to "sign" a scribble in the image and send it back to the pharmacy.  But sometimes the electronic faxes come in as PDF files, and we hare having a lot of trouble figuring out how to quickly open Adobe Reader (either X or 9.2.0), make a scribble, save the image and shoot it back to the pharmacy, quickly.

I've been doing some research and while the tool "Documents>Sign>Apply Ink Signature" exists, it is non-functional.  In each case, the PDF files "Securities" settings does not allow for "Signing", so my theory is that there is some property in the document that prevents Adobe Reader from allowing a scribble to be made on the file.  I have been able to get Foxit Reader to do this, and this could be a workaround solution, but all the staff are familiar with Adobe Reader, no one has ever used Foxit before, I'm reluctant to add yet another software into their work environment, particularly if Adobe Reader has the ability to do what we want.

Am I correct, that the properties are the problem?  Can these be changed in order to allow the scribble?  Is this a global (computer) setting, or are they going to have to do this on a document-by-document basis.

Thanks in advance for any help.

J. Quick

• 1. Re: How to "Ink Markup" a PDF when Security Settings won't Allow it?
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional