6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2006 4:28 AM by Newsgroup_User

File preferences change

When I installed the trial version of Fireworks, it asked me what file extensions he was going to be the default program for. I just clicked "yes" without really reading. Now every image, picture, etc, opens directly with Fireworks. How do I revert that ???

By the way: if I want to create logos and do that type of drawing (design) what Adobe/ex-Macromedia program should I use??? I'm kinda trying a bunch of things, but don't really know. I'm not a professional designer, and don't know any of these programs, but surely am creative, and learn fast. Anyways, what do you guys recommend??

Thanks a lot !!
        • 1. Re: File preferences change
          Level 7
          > When I installed the trial version of Fireworks, it asked me what file
          > extensions he was going to be the default program for. I just clicked "yes"
          > without really reading. Now every image, picture, etc, opens directly with
          > Fireworks. How do I revert that ???

Are you on Windows?
          In that case, change your file associations:
          http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307859/en-us

--
          Regards,
          Adriana.
          [ put out the rubbish if you need to reach me by e-mail ]
          www.spinsister.nl

• 2. Re: File preferences change
            Yes, I know I can do that, but what I need is to stop Fireworks ITSELF from doing that from default.
            I need to change FIREWORKS' own settings.
            • 3. Re: File preferences change
              Level 7
              diafiro,

That is what file associations are all about. If I associate the .gif
              extension with Windows Paint, that is the program that will open when I
              double click on any .gif files in my computer.

alex

diafiro wrote:
              > Yes, I know I can do that, but what I need is to stop Fireworks ITSELF from doing that from default.