18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2012 4:19 AM by Stormcloud492

What’s Black & White & Gray All Over?

Stormcloud492

I’m trying to become a pre-press expert after an embarrassing error on a job I sent to print last Spring. All the gray initial caps, lines and text boxes of the 12-page newsletter failed to print. Bottom line, I sent the job to this budget printer without converting from RGB to CMYK, because the printer had requested it for the previous issue.  The printer ate the cost of reprinting about 200 of the newsletters (presumably because they felt they shared responsibility for the error).  What’s clear is that I can’t count on guidance from this printer.

The other thing you should know is I am a freelancer, an American working in Germany, and have no direct communication with the printer – the client is the intermediary. I’m using Adobe Indesign CS4 ver. 6.0.6, on a MacbookPro OSX 10.6.8.  Now the next issue of the newsletter is coming my way.

The 12-page brochure is printed as follows:

front and back cover on coated stock in 4-color,

inside front and back cover on coated stock in B&W,

and interior 8 pages in B&W on uncoated stock.

There was no problem printing the previous issue, apart from poor quality B&W photos and grayscale elements in the interior pages. The only difference in the manner in which I submitted the second job was that I “converted” the photos using Layer Effects into the appearance of B&W, so I could better visualize how they would convert to grayscale (they remained in RBG color space).

All I can conclude is that when the printer saw the B&W photos, he assumed that I had actually converted everything in the interior pages to grayscale and therefore didn’t check for the presence of RGB color space. The gray text, box and line elements that were in RGB converted to equal amounts of CMY, which translated to white and thus dropped out of the plate! I should have known that this was a risk, but I did not.