6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2011 4:12 PM by Mik UK&IT

Dumb and in need of help - inDesign and DejàVu

Mik UK&IT

Hi everybody. What happens is I am a translator who usually works with DejàVu and very simple files (mainly *.doc). This time I have to deal with an original *.indd (an art catalogue). I have tried my best. Dowloaded a trial version of inDesign, exported the *.indd to *.idml so that DejaVu could handle it, but DejàVu, for some reasons, couldn't handle it. It was not a good start, so much the worse as I was even before this scared that my lack of experience would turn out to be fatal (a fully translated file in DejaVu I wouldn't be able to export a day before the deadline, for example).

Now, because I really don't wish to find myself in that scary situation and because my client is very happy to receive a translation of the text in there only, and a *.doc file would suit her fine, I thought I could spare myself the hussle and simply copy the text ONLY from my *.indd into a *.doc. Is that possible? Could you tell me how to do that, considering that I am opening inDesign for the SECOND time and I desperately need detailed directions...

The job is urgent, just for a change.

In the future I promise I will put my mind and my time to it and learn to deal with all of this. Past time I should realize we ARE in the future...

I'd be very grateful if anybody could help.

Michela

• 1. Re: Dumb and in need of help - inDesign and DejàVu
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

If the text in your InDesign file resides in one single long thread (possible spanning more than one page, but still connected), you can export to RTF:

1. Click with the Text Cursor anywhere inside the text.

2. Choose File -> Export. In the dropdown list at the bottom, choose "Rich Text Format (RTF)".