6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2011 8:10 PM by VDOSurfer

Editing video from Canon G12 still digital camera

PatC-Force10

Can someone give me some advice please? I have downloaded a trial version of Adobe Premiere Elements 9, and am having a bit of trouble.

I want to edit some very short video segments taken with my new Canon PowerShot G12 still digital camera. I have downloaded the videos from the camera using the canon software, and also tried using Picasa.
      Both worked ok.  I can view the videos in both the Picasa software and in the Canon software, however am unable to view them in the Adobe PE9 software. They seem to import into Elements, but when I try to view them I get a blank (white) screen, however the audio plays correctly.

I am new to editing, and have learned a lot from all the user forums. Much more than I ever wanted to know about the internals of compression, codecs, etc.

My current system is an older Lenovo system ThinkPad SL510 (2847-2JU), running Windows XP Pro.

With only 2GB RAM, 160GB 5400rpm HD. At the current time there is just one drive for data. (I also have an external 1 TB drive, but not using it at the moment for this, just fpr backup)

I just wanted to testdrive the PE9 system with a small video clip. Is this older system big enough to run PE9? Or should I just go buy a mac………

I have tried to do all the things suggested in the forums –

- XP was up to date with Service Packs

- updated drivers (seemed to already have the latest drivers already installed)

- looked for codecs - tried to convert a few things. nothing seemed to help, but I was a little overwhelmed (ok - I knew what some of the words meant, but.....)