5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2011 9:31 AM by Chris W. Griffith

Simple Website Landing Page

Daver197

Hi Guys, just looking to create a very simple website landing page with Catalyst. I am an utter noob with website stuff, just playing around for fun/learning. All i want to basically do is have a screen come up, some text fades in, two pictures and you click which picture you want and it takes you to that website. I got it working exactly how I wanted with 6 states in Catalyst.....but it won't 'play' from State 1-2-3-4-5-6 ....it has all the transitions between each state and you can't seem to get rid of them all ie State 1-2, State 1-3, State 1-4, State 2-5, State 2-1 etc....is there a way just to have a simple timeline that plays from State 1-2-3-4-5-6-7?

State 1 - Background picture and logo

State 2 - Background picture and logo - Text1 fades in

State 3 - Background picture and logo - Text1 fades in - Test2 Fades in

State 4 - Background picture and logo - Text1 fades in - Test2 Fades in - Text3 fades in

State 5 - Background picture and logo - Text1 fades in - Test2 Fades in - Text3 fades in - Picture1 fades in

State 6 - Background picture and logo - Text1 fades in - Test2 Fades in - Text3 fades in - Picture1 fades in - Picture2 fades in

Pictures are button that when you click on them take you to a particular URL

It shouldn't be that hard should it?

• 1. Re: Simple Website Landing Page
          Chris W. Griffith Adobe Community Professional

Actually, it looks like you have over built your design. You only need to two states; the start state and the final state. All the other transitions can be laid out in the time line between state 1 and state 2.

I would do this delete states 2-5. Then using the timelines panel, select the State 1 -> State '6', then use the Smooth Transition option to lay out the fades. Then you can select each fade and adjust it's overall timing and duration.

Hope this helps,

Chris

• 2. Re: Simple Website Landing Page