5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2011 2:24 PM by Jim_Simon

Question about benchmarking with Premiere Pro

RobWilliamsTG Level 1

Hi all:

I am a writer for a website that focuses a lot on benchmarking PC hardware and am in the process of refreshing our CPU test suite. I'd like to implement Premiere Pro into our testing, but as a new architecture launch is due in a couple of weeks, I am working on this with some haste. I'm a novice with this tool, so it's my hope that I can get the "a-OK" from experienced users who know whether we're testing with the tool in a reasonable way. This is important because we implement real-world benchmarks for the sake of showing users of such tools how one CPU can compare to another in terms of raw performance. Other tools we benchmark with include 3ds Max, Maya, Handbrake and Lightroom (which I desperately wish supported more than a couple of threads).

That all said, the project I've created is not conventional, as it's more of a worst-case scenario. I recorded about 18 minutes from a new PC game using Fraps, resulting in 35GB worth of source files. These are not "lossless", but are close to it (300~370Mbit/s). I take these files, crop most of them, add in cross dissolves and then encode it to MPEG 2 Blu-ray using almost default settings. In order to stress the CPU better, I enable the "Use Maximum Render Quality" (is that often used in production encodes?) option, and also change to a VBR 2-pass.

Here are some quick results from the benchmarking I did this afternoon:

Intel Core i7-975 (4 core, 8 thread, 3.33GHz) - 46m 40s

Intel Core i7-975 (4 core, 8 thread, 4.00GHz) - 38m 45s

Intel Core i7-980 (6 core, 12 thread, 3.33GHz) - 30m 36s

As seen there, in an equal-clock 4 core vs 6 core battle, we saw the latter encode finish about 50% faster (the scaling is rather amazing). But the question remains - can I feel confident in benchmarking this as a project? Would it ultimately prove useful to you guys?

Thanks much for any help!