4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2011 5:22 AM by RMP-MD

Action on Opening a data (XFDF) file in Form Filler

RMP-MD

I am trying to find out if there is a way in which to select a field, check its status and run a javascript based upon its data entry.  Problem is that we are passing a form from one person to another but just the data is being trasnsmitted.  Upon the second person, and so on, importing the data into a blank form, the selection of D or E (Deck or Engine), although selected, is NOT setting the form properly.  I need to reset the form based upon the selection of the D or E radio button.  Anyone have any ideas?  I have VERY little knowledge of Javascript but am learning.

Thanks in advance.

Richard

• 1. Re: Action on Opening a data (XFDF) file in Form Filler
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You need to explain what happens when a user selects D or E. Is this done with a radio button group, check boxes, a list box, combo box, or text field? Is a script triggered when the selection is manually made? Without knowing more details of how the form is set up, it's impossible to make suggestions.

• 2. Re: Action on Opening a data (XFDF) file in Form Filler
            RMP-MD Level 1

George,

THANK YOU for the response.  It is a RADIO button and it fills in a Text Box

with either D or E dependent upon the selection.  My problem is that when

one user fills in the data and transmit the data (NOT FORM) in XFDF format,

upon opening the file the D or E in the Text Box does not show BUT the

proper radio button shows as if it has been selected.  IF PROPERLY SELECTED

the background border changes from a white background to a light green (D)

or light red (E) color and a box pops up as a title stating DECK QUESTION

AUTHOR or ENGINE QUESTION AUTHOR.

I need to find a way that when the file is open the D radio button which is

selected is RESELECTED so that all colors and text, etc. are properly set.