7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 28, 2011 12:00 PM by Macman7

Timing off.

Macman7 Level 1

I am extremely new to AE, and know very little about video. I was given a job of adding some info to a video which I was able to find tuts for. Finally finished it and need to export it.

Background of project:

The original video was an HD .wmv file that is 1920 x 1080.

I added this movie to a new composition. I created it at 1280 x 720 (which is still a reduced aspect ratio of the 1920x1080 or 16:9 or 1.78.) It is set up as square pixels.

The frame rate of the original is 29.96 (this is what Quicktime inspector says).

My composition is 29.97.

When I added new layers to add the text the client wanted, I added it for those particular frames (time) the text should appear on the stage. When I scrub through or preview in AE, all works wonderful. It is simple text with a simple fade in/fade out. Problem comes when I render. The final .mov file won't show the added text until 3 or 4 seconds after it was intended (placed on the stage, so essentially later than it should). This happens to all of my additions.

I don't know enough to troubleshoot anymore than I already have. It seems silly to place the text 3-4 seconds on the stage prior to when I actually want it to appear, because then I'm guessing with the intro/outro of that text with relation to the movie.

• 1. Re: Timing off.
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

First of all make sure that you're setting the render cue up correctly. I've never had a project that came out a different length of frames than the composition.