4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 28, 2011 4:21 AM by Ned Murphy

I'm not sure whether to buy Flash CS 5.5 or CS 3. Help please?

Hisaka2011

Hello everybody.

I've finally decided to buy Flash, but I'm hesitating on which version. I have the chance to purchase either CS5.5 or CS3 for about the same price from a local shop that still had CS3 in stock.

I've heard CS5.5 is bug-infested and very different from previous versions, which makes me think it will be harder for me to learn to use it (I'm just a hobbyist and rely mostly on online tutorials to learn to make simple little actionscript games). But it is the newest version, so I'm assuming I'd have the best support and maybe new features I might grow to like once the growing pains are over?

On the other hand, I've heard CS3 was pretty good and stable, but I'm worried that it being much older, it might violently disagree with running in an Windows 7 machine. (64bit?)

And it seems bad to buy older software when you can buy new one for the same price, even if the old one has a better rep, at least from what I've heard.

So now that I'm completely confused and unsure which I should get, I ask you all, if you are knowledgeable in both of those applications, could you please tell me whether my assumptions are correct or not, and which of the two you would recommend?

Particularly, if I get CS5.5, would it be easy to learn to use it? Would you say the UI is friendly? Is it truly as picky and crashy as I've heard it was?

And most importantly, if I get CS5.5, would I be able to use old actionscript in it? Like if I follow a tutorial for something that worked in Flash CS2, will it still work in CS5.5? (It was either actionscript 2 or 3, if I remember well.)

Or would any tutorials for anything older than CS5.5 be worthless?