24 Replies Latest reply: Nov 3, 2011 9:28 AM by Choco_123 RSS

Working with percentages in Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro

Choco_123 Community Member

So, I have a quick question. I am new to working with forms in acrobat, and am having a hard time figuring this part out. If anyone can help me, I would greatly appreciate it!

So I have a form that I've created in acrobat 9 pro. Below I have listed "individual 1:" and then "percentage allocation". The "percentage alloctions" are the different form fields for the percentages I've created. For each form field, I limited the values to not exceed 100%. I want individuals filling in this form to be able to fill in the percentages by each of the names without the TOTAL percentage value (of all three together) going over 100%. But...the trick is, I don't have a separate "Total" form field, there's no room for one. So is there a way to make it so the total of the three equals 100% without having a "total" form field?

individaul 1:  percentage allocation

Individual 2: percentage allocation1

Individual 3: percentage allocation2

Please let me know if this makes sense,

• 1. Re: Working with percentages in Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro
          try67 ACP/MVPs

It's not very clear how you want it to work. Do you want the fields to automatically change their values if the total is bigger than 100%? If so, in what way?

Or do you just want to inform the user that the total is bigger than 100%?

• 2. Re: Working with percentages in Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro

Hmm, sorry, I know I'm not very good at explaining it. So each line has it's own restriction in terms of value inputted. You can only put in numbers up to 100%. So, individual #1 can only input a number up to 100, same for individual 2 and 3. 

So, if we work with actual values, let's say individual #1 puts in 50%,

individual 2 puts in 25%,