17 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2014 10:31 AM by rob day Branched to a new discussion.

Placing DNG files for Mockup Design in Indesign

Ro55yBear

Hi there

I am a magazine designer where i get 400-500 photo selections from my photographer. We have finally upgraded to CS5 (yes yes took our time). I used to be able in CS2 Indesign place the DNG files for mockup of the pages, but now in CS5 it says: "Cannot place this file. No filter found for requested operation." Is there a filter available to do this or do I need to convert all of the DNG files to jpg to use in the mockups?

• 1. Re: Placing DNG files for Mockup Design in Indesign
          Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I don't believe you've ever been able to place a DNG file directly in InDesign. You need to do a batch process to convert your DNG files to JPEG.

• 2. Re: Placing DNG files for Mockup Design in Indesign
            Ro55yBear Level 1

Hi Steve ... Yeah in CS2 you could ... it ment for mocking up stories it was very efficient, as you could mockup the layout to send to prepress for the team to manipulate the images from DNG

• 3. Re: Placing DNG files for Mockup Design in Indesign
              Dov Isaacs Adobe Employee

The ability to place Camera Raw images directly into InDesign has been a much requested but exceptionally highly-debated feature request since Photoshop started support for Camera Raw. DNG is actually just a special, TIFF-like standardized version of a raw image format that was an attempt to provide a universal container for common features of the various camera vendors' “raw” formats plus plus a common method of storing the vast amount of the individual camera vendors' and model-dependent “secret sauce” used to decode the raw image data for creating more industry-standard TIFF, JPEG, etc. images.