9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2011 9:41 AM by Jim_Simon

How to save to *.m4v

RobertBoy Level 1

I have a website that is able to show Flash video sermons which I shoot and produce with PPro CS5.  I have gotten some requests to make these online videos available to non-Flash browsers like the ones in an iPad and other similar devices that don't do Flash.  As I understand it, I will have to either add a player to my website that will play H.264 in addition to the Flash or change the site so it uses a player that will play both formats.  It sounds like I may want to use the one player that does both, and for that I need to use *.m4v video files.  If my video in is AVCHD, how can I best save in this m4v format?  Also, if there is a better way to get the results I need, I will be open to suggestions.  BTW, I designed the website a few years ago and self-taught myself the HTML programming, but have forgotten almost everything I learned at the time, so easier is better.

Edit:  Forgot to mention two issues:

1) Flash will start to play before the video file is fully downloaded.  With the large video files, will the alternate player work like this also?  Don't want my users to have to wait long to start playing the video.

2) I would like to maintain video quality.  Some of the formats are actually much worse than Flash (even with larger file size).

• 1. Re: How to save to *.m4v
          Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The H.264 bluray presets save to m4v, but no audio that come in a seperate file.

You could make a bluray folder in Encore and rip the m2ts from the stream directory.

• 2. Re: How to save to *.m4v
            Jim_Simon Level 8

for that I need to use *.m4v video files.

Actually the better option is .mp4, which can contain audio and works quite well on a web site.  You can set it up to start playing immediately, and the quality is superior to the Flash codecs.

You get this extension under the H.264 heading.

• 3. Re: How to save to *.m4v