5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2011 5:41 AM by KMEfire

Crawling text

KMEfire

Let me start with the fact that we purchased Adobe Premiere Elements 9 about a year ago so that we can edit and post short 2-3 minutes product videos.

I am new to video editing and am learning as I go, mostly trial and error.

One thing that I would like to do but is stumping me is how to have crawling text only be visible on a certain part of the screen.

I don't want my text coming crawling from one side of the screen to the other, just in a defined "box".

So that you can see what I'm talking about, here is our youtube channel http://youtu.be/vJmjSFPoLYI

The red box at the bottom is the only place I want the text to be seen as it comes on and leaves.

I'm achieving the red box by having a separate still title clip on top of the actual video that contains the red box graphic and our logo.

Maybe this isn't the best method?

I'm applying the text that you see with yet another still title clip on top of the "red box" title clip with the text that fades in and out. I am using a separate still title clip for each piece of text.

Again, maybe this isn't the best method.

Any help would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: Crawling text
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

You can certainly do this with simple keyframing of the title clip

I describe keyframing step by step in my books. I also describe simple motion keyframing in the free Basic Keyframing PDF, available on Premiere Elements support site http://Muvipix.com. (Just type "basic keyframing" in the search box.)

Meantime, rather than trying-and-erroring, it might be best to use some of the resources available to learn the basics of the program. I've created  a free 8 part Basic Training tutorial set you can start with.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/537685

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Crawling text
            KMEfire Level 1

Thanks for the tip.