3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 5, 2011 9:41 PM by Rick Gerard

Import Premiere Pro Sequence Problems

JustinDashing Level 1

Hello, I am new to using CS for video editing so forgive me if this seems very basic. 

What I am trying to do, is bring a sequence from Premiere Pro into After Effects so that I can jazz it up with some compositing and effets etc.  I went to File>Dynamic Link and imported my premiere sequence.  It shows up in my project panel, and double clickign it I can view it as normal.  But when I try to drag it into my timeline panel to make a comp, nothing happens.  I have tried draging it to the "create new comp" button within the project panel, and all it does is create an empty comp.  Am I doing something wrong?  I am using Mac OS X 10.7.2

• 1. Re: Import Premiere Pro Sequence Problems
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Just open up the comp. It should do that automatically.

• 2. Re: Import Premiere Pro Sequence Problems
            JustinDashing Level 1

When I do this, I just get an empty comp.

• 3. Re: Import Premiere Pro Sequence Problems
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I think you're going about this all wrong. If you go to Adobe Dynamic Link and pick Import Premiere Pro Sequence you get a movie not a composition. 

I don't think that's what you want.

If you go to File>Import>Premiere Pro Project you get all of the footage, the bins, and either all of the sequences as compositions or a selected sequence as a composition. Only cross dissolves and cuts come across but the AE project can quickly become unmanageable if there are lots of cuts. I cut a feature film last year in Premiere Pro and there were just a little over 3000 edits. Can you imagine working on a comp with 3000 layers???

Screen Shot 2011-11-05 at 9.26.26 PM.png

The project looks like this:

Screen Shot 2011-11-05 at 9.29.12 PM.png