13 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2011 10:09 AM by syrcle

Codec information in the info window or anywhere in Premiere Pro?

syrcle

Hi all,

I'm very new to Adobe Premiere Pro so pardon the newly question.  I of course come from the Final Cut Pro world.

So one of the things I didn't get was the level of information provided in the various info panels.  I noticed that neither the file properties or info panels, display what kind of codec a particular video is when it's in the project.  Lets say I had some XDCAM files and some ProRes files that i've imported, and I look at the info on the files either through right clicking and selecting properties or selecting the file and then going to the info panel, it doesn't ever display the actual codec in which the video is in.  It usually says something like MPEG movie or Quicktime Movie, but it won't get more detailed like it's a "ProRes 422 file" or something like that.

Is there any place in Premiere where this information can be displayed?  That's something that I did like about FCP, is it's transparent display of file attributes and how specific it gets down to what codec the file is encoded in, etc.

There's got to be a place in Premiere that has that info, no?  Please advise.

Thanks!!

• 1. Re: Codec information in the info window or anywhere in Premiere Pro?
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

See this page for instructions on viewing properties of a clip:

"View clip properties"

(Of most interest to you is probably the command File > Get Properties For > Selection .)

If you want more information, you can use something like Gspot or MediaInfo.

BTW, these resources should help you to get started with Premiere Pro if you know FCP.

• 2. Re: Codec information in the info window or anywhere in Premiere Pro?
            syrcle Level 1

Hi Todd,