3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2011 4:50 AM by BobLevine

How to float a picture over several pages....?

GreenAkiva Level 1

I am brand new to Adobe InDesign but I am using it to create a newsletter.  I have a jpeg that I was hoping to use as a subtle background for my whole newsletter which will end up being 4 or 5 (non-facing) pages.  So far I have not seen a way to do this.  It looks really easy to do with a text box where I see a "+" sign at the bottom of the page that I can simply click on and continue the text on the next page.  I'm hoping there is something as simple as this to extend a graphic file from one page to the next.....please help!

Also, When I am done I will need to copy and paste this into an email so I am curious how I should go about exporting my file once it is complete.  Thank you for your help!!

• 1. Re: How to float a picture over several pages....?
          Silkrooster Adobe Community Professional & MVP

try applying your image to a master page. Doing so will make your image display on all pages using that master page. Unless you tell it to, the image is locked so it won't move when you add objects on top of the image.

• 2. Re: How to float a picture over several pages....?
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

I get the sense that you want different portions of a very large image to be on different pages. If that's the case, putting it on the master page will not work. Images on the master page will appear identically on all pages to which that master is applied.