10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2011 3:30 AM by Nicknamer

How does 8 relate to CS3 and up?

Nicknamer Level 1

Good day,

I am a web designer specialized in cross-browser rendering (IE6 through Chrome13), DHTML and making sites user-friendly. But I'm starting my own business next year, so I should be able to create basic graphics, too. I found a CD with a Macromedia pack on it (DW, Flash and FW), all version 8. But I am confused, because I see screenshots of CS3 versions that look much older than my FW interface. Where does version 8 stand in relationship to CS3 and up? I would need to know for the tutorials I want to study.

And if version 8 is substantially worse than newer versions, what important things would one be able to do with those newer versions that cannot be done with version 8?

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: How does 8 relate to CS3 and up?
          Linda Nicholls Level 4

Fireworks 8 was the last version produced by Macromedia. After buying out Macromedia, Adobe named the next version CS3. Version 8 is still usable, but is missing a lot of features of the more recent versions, like the ability to design multiple pages in one document. Why not download the trial version of Fireworks CS5.1 and compare the two versions for yourself?

• 2. Re: How does 8 relate to CS3 and up?
            Nicknamer Level 1

Thanks for replying, Linda. You asked: "Why not download the trial version of Fireworks CS5.1 and compare the two versions for yourself?" The answer is that I've just started with the program, even with making graphics myself -- others used to do it for me up 'till now. I would think that one can only assess program versions by try-out if one is more or less proficient in its use.

Of more value to me now would be to know which functions CS5 would have that 8 doesn't. You said that with CS5 one can design multiple pages in one document. Would there be other important improvements?