8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2011 10:27 AM by ladyinblack1964

Disappearing objects

ladyinblack1964 Level 1

I am sure there is a logical explanation for this. I'm new to using "Place" instead of just drawing a picture box and putting the object in it.

When I place an object on my page, and then try to move it around, a brown box appears around it (this is in addition to the blue box I started out with), and then the object inside disappears.

I'm also discovering you don't need a picture box anymore. I can just copy and paste from PS into ID.

My instructor has us doing the "Place" thing. I just read in the Help menu that you can even just drag and drop. So maybe I'm worrying too much?

Thanks again!

• 1. Re: Disappearing objects
          M Blackburn Level 3

When you Place an object, you are placing it in a picture box (frame). There is always a frame that images sit inside even if you  copy and paste from Photoshop or Illustrator.

If you select it with the Direct Selection tool, or select the Donut in the middle with the Selection Tool, you are selecting what is in the box. This will typically be the Red (or brown) Box. The Blue box (and that will be whatever the Layer colour that the object is on)  is the frame. The frame crops whatever is inside it, so if you select the internal image and move it around, you can move it right outside the box. If this happens, you can use the Object>Fitting commands to position either the frame or the content as you like.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Disappearing objects
            mckayk_777 Level 2

G'day,

Was just wondering if a copy and paste from PS to ID is a done thing, I have never thought about or considered doing such a thing, have always saved the PS files as TIF PSD or JPG depending on what it was going to be used for.

• 3. Re: Disappearing objects
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)