4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2011 4:35 PM by Larry G. Schneider

Few Q's regarding moving files from illustrator into indesign

k086956 Level 1

Hi,

I am new to both Indesign and Illustrator. I am currently going through the Lynda tutorials and Adobe in a book...

I have created adverts in illustrator. Inorder to move the adverts into indesign i can do either "paste" or "place".

I have found "place" is best. However, my first question is this:

When i save the illustrator advert, it is converted into PDF. Is it always best to convert the file into a PDF before placing into Indesign???

Also is it possible to paste a fully layered advert into indesign FROM illustrator?? So i can manipulate the layers there???

Whenever i have tried to copy and paste an advert from illustrator into indesign it seems it only allows me to either copy a field of text or a certain part of the advert only.

I am unable to copy the whole multi-layered advert.

I have yet to save an advert down into a non-pdf format. I will try it tonight...

Many thanks

• 1. Re: Few Q's regarding moving files from illustrator into indesign
          tonyharmer Level 3

Place your files, you'll lose (most of) your editability (and flexibility) and make your ID file bigger if you paste.

If you need to make an edit to your placed ID file, simply alt + double-click it.

Illustrator usually creates PDF compatible files - that's quite normal.

Layers - no.

• 2. Re: Few Q's regarding moving files from illustrator into indesign
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

To expand a little, it is possible to paste even an entire ad as editable paths (you may need to uncheck Prefer PDF When Pasting in the Clipboard Handliing section of the prefs) IF it is simple enough, but your text will be converted to outlines and will not be editable, and when the illustration becomes too complex it will paste as a single PDF object no matter waht you've selected.