12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2011 9:07 PM by John Hall

Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant:Number

nathanp812

Hi everyone,

I am new to flex and have spent the last few weeks diving in with Flex 4.5, Amethyst designer and WebORB .NET.

Everything is going pretty well, I have a services DLL set up that I use remoting to pull down an array list of items from a database and am able to display those records.

The issue arises when I try and reference the WebORB generated data model classes in my mxml page. 

The minute I add a reference to any one of these classes the entire project no longer compiles with the following error.

Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant:Number

I am a little confused.  I thought Number was part of the Flex base classes and it was included by default?

To add to my confusion if I add a reference to Number in my mxml code no error is thrown, yet the compiler throws an error pointing to Number as the culprit when I try to add a reference to my class.

var t:Number;  // This works fine.

var n:MyCustomClass;  // Compile error thrown

Is there something I need to include in my build settings?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks

• 1. Re: Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant:Number
          John Hall Level 4

And you've imported that class to the file with the error?

• 2. Re: Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant:Number
            nathanp812 Level 1

Hi, thanks for the quick reply.

Yes, I added a single import statement to where my classes reside.

import ARISFlexService.AAP.vo.*

Which I assume covers everything in the namespace vo but the problem still persists.

Do I need to import each class as a separate import statement?

I should point out that these classes have references to other classes and it looks like all the imports for each of these classes have been generated.

• 3. Re: Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant:Number