9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2011 7:43 PM by the_wine_snob

Still Images slideshow

tgreen64dcn Level 1

I have jpegs that are designed to play in succession and create the illusion of animation. However, when I "play" it, the photos are blurry and only the final photo comes into its full resolution.  Is the possible to do with PE 9?  I'm new to the program so I don't know what to adjust. 

• 1. Re: Still Images slideshow
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

What are the pixel x pixel dimensions of those Still Images? That can be very important to the resultant quality. This ARTICLE goes into more detail.

Also, how/where are you monitoring the quality?

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Still Images slideshow
            tgreen64dcn Level 1

Thank you!  The images were created in Photoshop.  They are 2400x1800px (12"x9" using a resolution of 200).  After quickly reading the article I think they need to be resized.  To see the quality, I rendered it, then exported it.  I also just looked at it full screen.  I'm very new, but ready to learn!

Teri

• 3. Re: Still Images slideshow
              Ted Smith Level 3

The photos should havce their pixels reduced and/or cropped to match exactly the resolution and pixels of your final movie.

Eg is using Standard def 640x480 wiht 3x4 aspect ration then the photo should be the same before adding to the timeline.

I know this sounds brutal but that is what the photos are going to ber on the movie anyway so it is better to make them this bad as early as possible.

They will always look blurry anyway when reduced so you usually have to use different camera techniques like shooting closer up and having more contrasting objects. Eg. A wide scene of rolling fields can look great in high definition but useless in low resolution.

When creating animation is is usual for each 'frame change' to be up to movie 4 frames long and not change with every frame.