16 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2011 9:03 AM by b0st0n20

Build new system...what's compatible?

b0st0n20

Hi, I've been editing wedding videos for a few years now, but I only know how to use the programs - I'm interested in building a new system/ computer, but I don't know how to build a computer or know what is compatible with what.  I am asking a friend (who knows computers) to help me build it.

My current computer is fairly old (from 2005) so I wanted to start brand new.

Currently, I use Windows XP, Adobe Premiere 6.5, Matrox RTX.100 video editing card, and (I think) an Asus graphics card...again, I'm not familiar with the components of a computer, so please bear with me.

I was told to stick with my Matrox RTX.100 because it is still in good condition & wouldn't need to be changed out, but then I would have to stick with Adobe Premiere Pro 2.0 and Windows XP.  This person told me that because I don't do HD video or Blu-Ray, I would not need to upgrade to the new Premieres...CS4, CS5, etc.  He also said that Matrox RTX.100 is compatible with Adobe Premiere Pro 2.0, at the highest.

I guess what I am asking is...can someone help me understand...if it's possible, to go all new, the newest Matrox video editing card, which Adobe Premiere programs & grapics cards are compatible.  I use a Panasonic AG-DV250 to play my DV tapes & capture them through a 1394 port.

Since I am starting fresh with a computer, I don't want to recycle old parts (video editing card, hard drives, etc.).  I just really need to know which video editing cards are good, which OS, which Adobe Premiere programs (also Photoshop, Encore, & wedding transitions) are good.

I'm sorry if I'm too vague or that I don't understand enough...but please, if possible, any help would be tremendously appreciated.

Thank you so much in advance.

• 1. Re: Build new system...what's compatible?
          Harm Millaard Level 7