14 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2011 5:51 PM by TroyCole

GREP Search to apply superscript

TroyCole

Hi there,

I'm a longtime InDesign user but I'm pretty new to GREP.

Currently I'm working on a French document, but this could easily apply to English documents as well.

I'm trying to use GREP to identify and apply superscript to letters that come after numerals indicating their position (i.e., 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc.)

The code that I've written that I "hoped" would do this is:

(?<=\s\d+)[\l\u]+(?=\s)

What I hoped this query would do is:

1 - positive look behind for a white space followed by one or more numbers (?<=\s\d+)

2 - find any one or more letter characters [\l\u]+

3 - positive look ahead for a white space

A sample bit of text that I'm trying this on includes the following text:

...dans le cadre du 40e anniversaire...

My hope was that this would select the "e" which I could then apply superscript to. I can get parts of the code to work individually but I can't get the full query to work.

If anyone can point me in the right direction to get this working I would really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

Troy

• 1. Re: GREP Search to apply superscript
          SJRiegel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

This seems to work for me.

(?<=\d)[\l\u]+(?=\s)

I just changed the positive look behind to find just one number.

Does it change anything you don't want changed when it's phrased this way?

• 2. Re: GREP Search to apply superscript
            TroyCole Level 1

Update

----------

I've just run it and realized that the modified query would change a letter in a postal code (I'm in Canada) to superscript. For example the "J" in the following postal code would become superscript - B3J 2S9. Is there a way to "exclude" the postal code scenario?

----------

Hi SRiegel,

Thanks for the quick reply!