5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2011 1:53 PM by try67

PDF File - Check for Updated Version via Java???

hopkinsprinting Level 1

I want to post some instructional PDF files to my website for my customers to download. From time to time, these PDFs will be updated with new content and I want my customers to always have the latest version.

I am looking for a Java script that would run when the PDF is opened in Acrobat or Reader that would "phone home" to see if a newer version of itself exists on my site and if so, notify the user and give them the option to download the newer PDF.

The ideal script would only run every 4th or 5th time the PDF is opened so as not to become annoying to the viewer.

As I am not a programmer and definitely not familiar with Java, if someone knows how to make this work, a full script would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,
      Jon :-)

• 1. Re: PDF File - Check for Updated Version via Java???
          Dave Merchant MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can't do it with JavaScript as the sandbox prevents two-way network traffic, but it would be possible to do it by coding your "phone home" function into a SWF file and embedding that into the PDF, as rich media annotations are allowed to connect to the Internet - however it will only work in Acrobat/Reader 9+ and users will always be able to block network access, so it can only be an advisory thing rather than an enforceable "document expiry" function.

• 2. Re: PDF File - Check for Updated Version via Java???
            hopkinsprinting Level 1

Hi Dave,

First, many thanks for the reply.  I actually feel like I am getting somewhere with this now!

As far as the SWF thing and embedding it into the a PDF, would you know how to do that (as well as the code needed)?  It's times like this I wish I were a programmer.

Thanks again!

Jon

• 3. Re: PDF File - Check for Updated Version via Java???
              Dave Merchant MVP & Adobe Community Professional