4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2011 7:33 PM by danitaz

Digital Formats problems

danitaz

I have attempted to export a book to both the Kindle format (with Amazon's beta add-in) and the "Digital Editions" in InDesign CS4, and both have the same problem, so I'm assuming I need to figure out what is wrong with my formatting, and it has nothing to do with the Amazon add-in (which was my first though until I tried the epub export).

I've been using InDesign CS4 for about 4 years, but am totally self-taught.  That means, I'm sure, that I have a lot of errors in my files that I can overlook because they output properly to PDF (which is how I've done the books exclusively up to now), but are showing problems when I get to the digital versions.  They almost all have to do with chapter numbers.

Each chapter is of course a separate file, and there is a text box at the top of each chapter that just has the Chapter Number and Chapter Name - so like this:

1          Preparing for Your Upgrade

I have some cross-reference definitions that are "Chapter #, Chapter Name".

I have some paragraph formats that are "Figure ^H-^#:"

So, when I output this to digital format (either Kindle or epub), the Chapter Number does not appear either in the TOC or indeed on the first line of the chapter.  I just see the chapter name.  The number is also dropped from the cross reference, so it just becomes "Chapter , blah blah".  And two problems with the figure captions.  I only get the figure number (not the chapter number), and the caption wraps around the figure.  So, for example, Figure 3-1 will show like this:

1:  FIGURE HERE rest of caption

wrapped if too long.

Interestingly, my cross references for figures, that might say "See Figure 3-1" actually do show the Chapter number.

As I say, I'm convinced that I just have "junk" in my formatting that is causing trouble, but since I don't know exactly what I'm looking for, I'm a little lost.

Thanks for any help you can give!

Danita