7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2011 1:16 PM by kglad

*EMERGENCY* Convert Broken Text into Single Hyperlink

cpytrw

I have been handed a clients project that goes live tomorrow from the boss who just fired the guy who was working on it. I AM NOT A FLASH EXPERT! If you can walk me through step by step how to do this, I would be more than grateful.

Thank You.

--------------------------------------------------

I have a Flash (AS3) intro homepage, the index page is already written and setup. A Mask and fill approach was used to create the animated effect in which the text gradually appears. In order to do the fill, the text 'Home' 'About' 'Works' 'Contacts' are all broken apart text (i.e. (H)(O)(M)(E)) Here's what I need to do and would not even know where to start. How do I convert each of the words which are made up of broken text, into navagation buttons as hyperlinks to the other documents in the page (i.e. convert (H)(O)(M)(E) into HOME which you can click on and be taken to index.htm)

The only notes I found from the guy on this was: 'Need to convert broken text words into symbols.' and 'Make hyperlinks out of text converted via mask and fill.' I have no idea if that means anything, or is what needs to be done, if it is I have no idea how.

Anything, please???

• 1. Re: *EMERGENCY* Convert Broken Text into Single Hyperlink
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

you would select the text you want to use as a link (and that may be more or less tricky requiring you to click on certain layers and possibly distributing objects to different layers), right click, click convert to symbol and select movieclip.  if the text is timeline tweened, it will be even more tricky unless you create a new keyframe at the end of the tween that contains untweened text and convert that.

• 2. Re: *EMERGENCY* Convert Broken Text into Single Hyperlink
            cpytrw Level 1