3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2011 6:43 AM by Ned Murphy

Portfolio in flash?

lyttmab

Hello everybody,

I'm totally new to this forum, so i hope i am at the right place for my question.

I am fairly new to flash and i have practice it a lot for my study, also webdesigning is part of my study. I want to make a portfolio site for a friend. she likes to draw a lotand would like a website.

So i want to make a portfolio site for her.  Now i was wondering if flash was the right solution and if anyone has experience with it? And would it be possible to add and remove pictures easily?

I will probably have more questions if flash is the right program, but for now this is the most important.

Greets,

Bas

• 1. Re: Portfolio in flash?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Flash has often been used for portfolio sites, such as for calleries and slideshows, although there are alternatives you could consider as well.  As a web designer you should consider having an alternative non-flash version of the site for those who do not have Flash players - you might decide it unnecessary, but it should be considered.

It can be somewhat easy to maintain a site as far as adding and removing pictures, though setting it up does require knowledge of processing data files and/or working with server-side scripting languages such as PHP.  Also whoever adds and removes pictures would need to be familiar with editing the data resources and uploading files to a server.

• 2. Re: Portfolio in flash?
            lyttmab Level 1

Thanks for the fast reply.

I don't have any experience with PHP at all, and i'm too busy at the moment to put any time in it. Still i want to make it in flash.

I have to practice with as much as i can, since I'll be making quite a big test about flash in 7 weeks. Afterwards I can start thinking of alternatives.

• 3. Re: Portfolio in flash?
              Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP