7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2011 11:01 AM by Rashid Clark

Basic .swf importing and exporting

Rashid Clark

Hi everyone. Another AE newbie here.

I am having trouble getting imported swf files to export efficiently. I suspect they are being exported as images rather than as vectors.

Searching through the docs/forum/faq for info on swf imports/exports hasn't brought up an answer, so I'll try asking the group here. I suspect it is something very basic about AE's use which I have not picked up on yet.

Swf files I export from AE have file sizes much larger than expected.

Here is the process I am using:

TEST 1

-----------

a) In Flash CS4, I created a single frame, 1920x1080 document. The single frame contains a single shape object: a circle. Nothing beyond that (no symbols, no effects, no sound etc.)

b) Published the .swf in Flash. Resulting file is 822 bytes.

c) Created a new project in AE. Imported the swf from (b) into the project using the menu option, "File->import->file..." 

d) Dragged the imported swf from the "project" tab to the timeline. Set the running time to 1/24th of a second, the same as the swf.

d) Chose the menu option, "File->export->swf". Marked it to "ignore" "unsupported features".

e) The exported swf has a file size of 44,421 bytes.

TEST 2

----------

Exactly the same as test1, except that I altered the original .fla file to have a document size of 720x405, but it still contained the same vector shape as test1 and nothing more. The file published from Flash was then 825 bytes.

After importing/exporting that swf into/out-of a new AE project, the resulting export was 11,424 bytes.

So 44Kb vs 11Kb when only the document size changed. This suggests to me that the export is not making use of vector data, and instead is exporting a rastorized bitmap.