9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 24, 2011 1:43 PM by the_wine_snob

Reducing projector noise

holbrookp Level 1

I'm new to Premiere Elements 10 and plan on making some of my first projects the transfer of some Super 8 sound home movies onto DVD and the web. I have the films loaded in Premiere Elements but I'm noticing that some have the noise of the projector in the background. I made them with the camera's mic picking up the sound from the projector speaker since I have no way to record just the sound alone.

I haven't had much luck with using the audio effects to reduce the sound. So I'm wondering whether anyone knows what filters I should use. I want to reduce or eliminate (no chance of that, I know) the projector noise so that the voices can be heard better. Thanks to anyone who has any advice!

I have Steve Grisetti's books ordered but I'd like to get something done on this project in the meantime. I don't quite understand how the audio effects change the audio but I'm hoping the books will give me a full understanding of them.

• 1. Re: Reducing projector noise
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Did the Super 8 films have Audio?

If so, you will probably want to mic the speaker for the projector, and then muffle the projector sounds, with some Sono-Foam, or maybe some blankets. With some projectors, you can plug into an output, and recored the Audio, right from the projector, without having to go through its speakers. Depends on the equipment though.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Reducing projector noise
            holbrookp Level 1

Yes, the Super 8 films had audio. Thanks for answering. I was hoping for a solution that would correct what's already recorded, but you're right: I should go back and record them all over again.

My camera doesn't have an external audio input.

I didn't think the projector noise would be so noticeable when I recorded them.

• 3. Re: Reducing projector noise
              Ted Smith Level 3