4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2011 4:27 AM by Peter Spier

A novice with a question.......

redchopperboy

Hi, please could someone offer a suggestion... I am a novice at InDesign, using only really the most basic tools to create page layouts, tables etc.... I will try to explain what I am tryng to do / see if it is possible...

I have designed a Print Selection Guide (16 pages) for my client that is mainly table based, but not all tables are the same, different amounts of columns, rows etc.... they want to supply me one master file that they modify each time there is an update to the content that can be streamed into InDesign rather than giving me the changes individually - does anyone know what kind of file they could create to be able to do this? They mainly use an Access Database to create their master file, can this be imported easily to InDesign or automatically? Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated...

thanks

Chop

• 1. Re: A novice with a question.......
          Grant H Level 4

Yes it can be done with various workflows: from placing and styling to "dynamic" data merge, etc.  Depending on the project and chosen workflow will dictate what data file should be used...

G

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: A novice with a question.......
            redchopperboy Level 1

Thanks Grant, I will probably need to bring in an expert InDesigner to help me set up my initial document.!

• 3. Re: A novice with a question.......
              Grant H Level 4

I will probably need to bring in an expert InDesigner to help me set up my initial document

Prob better: altho its not that hard, there are a lot of "things" you need to know how to do (errr obv...) from how you create the ID file to importing the data, no matter what workflow suits the project best.

G

• 4. Re: A novice with a question.......
                Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)