• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Could not use the clone stamp tool because the area to clone has not been defined

Community Beginner ,
Nov 22, 2011 Nov 22, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Freshly installed Elements 10.  Can not use the option-mouse click to define an area for the clone stamp.  The error I get is:

Could not use the clone stamp tool because the area to clone has not been defined (option-click to define a source point).

New Mac Mini.  Had the same problems in Elements 9 so I installed the 10 trial.  Is this a key binding error?  Did not have this issue with Elements 9 on my Mac Air or my Windows 7 system. 

I'm not a newbie and know how to use the clone tool.  I won't say I'm an expert so if it's something related to layers please throw out some ideas.

TOPICS
Problem or error

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Deleted User

Yeah, it sounds like a layers issue.  If the area you're using to define the clone source is a transparent area on one of your layers, it won't work.  Keep the Layers Palette open, and ensure you're using the image area (and not the mask area) -- if the image area of the layer is active, it will have a border around it.

Ken

Votes

Translate

Translate

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yeah, it sounds like a layers issue.  If the area you're using to define the clone source is a transparent area on one of your layers, it won't work.  Keep the Layers Palette open, and ensure you're using the image area (and not the mask area) -- if the image area of the layer is active, it will have a border around it.

Ken

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines