4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2011 12:28 PM by hello543456543

How has your experience been with Premiere Elements?

PekMark

Hi all,

I'm an avid still photographer, and have worked with images for 40-50 years.  I use a Mac and enjoy using (and learning more about) Photoshop Elements.  I need to get more into video.  Years ago, I used Pinnacle software and some Sony software.  I found them clunky but workable.  I now have iMovie on my Mac, and it's acceptable, but it fails miserably when trying to create customizable DVDs.  (iDVD is just too constrained and doesn't let me do simple things that I want to do, like create a DVD with chapters, but allow the DVD to "Play All."  In iDVD, there is no way to Play All!  My 86-year-old mother-in-law isn't going to want to continually flip through all the menus . . .)

So . . . .I'm thinking of looking at Premiere Elements.  I know that I looked at it about 6-8 years ago, but I found it too complicated for my own good.  Can users (especially noobs who are basically working with family home movies -- nothing too artsy-fartsy) tell me about their initial experiences and their learning curves?  The compexity of video software has kept me from taking enough video of my family -- and I'm not a technophobe!

Any and all comments, advice, and impressions will be much appreciated.  Thank you!!

• 1. Re: How has your experience been with Premiere Elements?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

It all depends on your workflow, your source video and what you're trying to accomplish. I'd recommend you download the free trial and give it a test drive. Why let others' opinions determine whether you'll like a product or not?

Meantime, if you want a walk-through of the basics, you can check out my free Basic Training tutorials.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/537685

You can also find walk-throughs of some of the new features in version 10 here:

http://Muvipix.com/pe10.php