11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2011 3:26 PM by TᴀW

Having ID CS5.5 remember settings?

John Philpit

I'm writing a long document directly in InDesign (not the Story Editor or any 3rd-party app). There is one setting I'd like ID to remember, but it's not always happening.

Using typographer's quotation marks and apostrophes. After setting typographer's marks in the Preferences>Type dialog, each time I start a new story (which I do for each chapter) the setting reverts to straight quotes. I've tried checking the box and saving the setting both within an existing story and with no story selected, but it always seems to revert to straight quotes when I create a text frame not part of an existing thread. Is there a way to make the curved quotation marks the default? I've been using ID for many years and never remember this being a problem in earlier projects.

Thanks,

John

• 1. Re: Having ID CS5.5 remember settings?
          TᴀW Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The quotes you get are dependant on the language setting of the text. So

even if you've used typographers quotes, check what language the text

has, and in Preferences you can set the type of quote you want for that

language.

Ariel

• 2. Re: Having ID CS5.5 remember settings?
            John Hawkinson Level 5

John:

After setting typographer's marks in the Preferences>Type dialog, each time I start a new story (which I do for each chapter) the setting reverts to straight quotes.

This does not sound normal.

All of your stories are within one INDD document, not a Book (INDB), yes?

Could you be hitting the key binding, "Toggle Typographer's Quotes Preference", aka Shift+Ctrl+Alt+' (Windows)  or Shift+Cmd+Opt+' (Mac)?

If not:

Do you see the same behavior in a brand new INDD document?

If so, it sounds to me like corrupt InDesign preferences.

If not, it sounds like a corrupt InDesign document.

Then for each of those cases: