6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2011 5:12 AM by Steve Grisetti

Blending Mac and PC to capture years of video and photos

RBK2011

Hi All.

I am new to PrE and have been using only the basic functionality within Photoshop Elements.  My goal is to finally utilize the boxes of photos and video tapes that fill my office closet so as to pass on our family memories to our kids and grandchildren.  I have transitioned my business computer use to a Macbook pro laptop, and kept my HP desktop.  My hope is that I can use both computers to efficiently capture video and photos, and use one, or both, to edit final movies and albums.  Is this advisable?  I would appreciate any suggestions and tips on how to proceed.

The MacBook Pro is an early 2010 laptop: 2 GHz Intel Core i7; 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 memory.  Should I increase memory to 8GB?

The HP desktop is a model 6267: Intel Core 2 Quad CPU; 8 GB RAM Q8300 @ 2.5GHz; 64-bit Windows 7

I have seperate external drives linked to both computers: The1.5TB drive for the HP is formated to FAT32; the 3TB drive linked to the Mac is formated Apple(Journal).  Suggestions on how best to format the drives to cross-utilize for capture and editing?

Thanks very much for your time and expertise!!!

Rob

• 1. Re: Blending Mac and PC to capture years of video and photos
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

First, any drive that you're going to use to work with video should be formatted NTFS. So I'd switch that FAT32 drive as soon as possible.

Beyond that -- I'm not clear what you're asking. When you say "pass on our family memories to our kids and grandchildren", do you mean making videos and saving them as DVDs... or something else?

Premiere Elements comes in both a Mac and a PC version, so it's up to you which way you go. But, if I had your equipments, I'd go with the Mac.

You can work on one or the other -- but you can't pass projects back and forth between Macs and PCs. It's one or the other.