2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2011 1:20 PM by AwdatPazzles

Repost: Close Button ('X') on UI extension

AwdatPazzles

Note:  This was originally posted in the Illustrator SDK forums but was suggested to move it to here (I did not see an option to simply move the original post).

Let me first state that I am very new to Flex/Flash/Illustrator.  So please forgive me if I use the wrong terms or concepts.  Using Illustrator CS5.1, Flex 3.6 SDK in Flash Builder 4.5, and Visual Studio 2010.

Some background.  I am developing a hybrid plugin for Adobe Illustrator.  The plugin is C++ and interfaces with a hardware device and an UI extension built on Flex/Flash.  It uses the CSXS library (version 2.0 based on Flex 3.4 SDK) to perform the communication between the extension and the plugin.

When the UI extension closes, I need the plugin to perform some tasks.  These tasks might be related to Illustrator and/or to the device it communicates with.  If the UI is closed using a button I add to the UI, the plugin runs the tasks as needed.  If the UI is closed using the 'X' button in the corner of the window, I can not get the CSXS interface dispatch events to carry over to the plugin.  This is the same dispatch events used from the UI button that I manually created and works fine.

I have tried capturing the exiting event from the NativeApplication and I do see the code entering the associated function to that capture when I am stepping it in Flash Builder.  The dispatch events run but I do not enter the corresponding functions in the plugin code.

Below is one of several attempts at making this work (believe this was found on the Adobe forums):

public function init() : void

{

NativeApplication.nativeApplication.addEventListener(Event.EXITING, windowedapplication1_closingHandler);

}

protected function windowedapplication1_closingHandler(event:Event):void

{

event.preventDefault();

//event.stopImmediatePropagation();