15 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2011 9:31 PM by heil_cf2

Is there any alternative to IndicPlus to copy paste from MS word?

heil_cf2

I am new to inDesign, need to bring Punjabi Language story already typed in MS Word, but when I copy paste to inDesign 5.5, it changes the text. Is there any way to resolve this issue, or I have to buy IndicPlus? if there is any better solution please advise, thanks

• 1. Re: Is there any alternative to IndicPlus to copy paste from MS word?
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

What happens if you place the document into InDesign?

Bob

• 2. Re: Is there any alternative to IndicPlus to copy paste from MS word?
            heil_cf2 Level 1

the words all got mangled up, it makes spelling mistakes so to speak off, i have Punjabi fonts installed, but somehow indesign doesn't understand the complex words,

thx

• 3. Re: Is there any alternative to IndicPlus to copy paste from MS word?
              Joel Cherney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

In CS5.5, if you turn on the World-Ready Composer, then those words should render correctly, assuming that you're using correctly encoded fonts, of course. (You probably are, unless you're coming back to Punjabi typesetting after a 15-year break.)  It might work better if you place instead of copy/paste, but both methods should work.  I'd just be nervous about what the clipboard was doing to my complex-script text.

Also, note that when you're using the WRC you're using something that Adobe doesn't support, or mention in its help files.

• 4. Re: Is there any alternative to IndicPlus to copy paste from MS word?
                heil_cf2 Level 1

hi, how can I turn on world composer, I looked it everywhere, no help, thanks

• 5. Re: Is there any alternative to IndicPlus to copy paste from MS word?

It's on the page I sent you to:

InDesign Scripts & Scripting